Hi there, and welcome to my Blog!

My name is Iana and I am Ukrainian expat living in Germany since 2014! I first came here back in 2013 to do a 2 months summer language course in beautiful city of Kassel. It was exactly that moment when I fell in love with Germany and decided to pursue my Master’s degree here. So, let me tell you a bit about myself. 

I was born in a small Ukrainian village, where I lived together with my parents, grandmother and great-grandmother till I turned 5 years old. It was great time, growing up surrounded by different animals and beautiful nature. Then me and my parents moved to a close-by city of Kremenchug, where I went to kindergarten and primary school. I loved primary school! I had a group of amazing girlfriends there, girl gang as I would call it. As well I have been engaged in wide range of extracurricular activities: I took painting classes, attended circus studio and gymnastics school, I participated in number of school performances, as well as in kindergartens bringing joy and smile to little children.

When I started with high school, me and my family again moved to another city – this time Poltava. Transition from school to gymnasium was rather challenging for me. I was super sad abandoning my girl gang and also scared about starting new school. I won’t lie – it took a little bit of adjustment in terms of learning experiences and requirements of gymnasium. It was also challenging to be a new girl in a class – all so called friend groups there were already formed and I felt a bit like a stranger there for couple of weeks. But after I was able to actually fit in and find myself a new girl-gang. I was super excited. There I have started my research work and in-depth English language learning. I guess, I have subconsciously knew that I will move abroad eventually. Occasionally I participated in school theater and continued doing acrobatics in my free time. 

I have graduated school in 2010 and pursued Bachelor degree in “International Economics” at Poltava University of Economics and Trade. In summer of 2011 I, for the first time ever, went abroad to do a 1-month summer German language course at “Institut für Sprachen” in Kassel, Germany. In 2013 I went there once again, but this time for 2 months. During one of the excursions, we went to see a small town of Schmalkalden and got a small tour around the campus. I immediately fell in love with it and was determined to do my Master degree there.

Campus of Schmalkalden University of Applied Sciences

After a year of thorough preparations, documents collection and Bachelor graduation, in October 2014, I came to Schmalkalden and started my Master’s degree in “International Business and Economics”. Since then I have done a 4-months Erasmus Internship in Czech Republic and finished couple of internships in marketing communications and project management departments in Germany. During six years I lived in number of cities in Germany as Schmalkalden, Wiesbaden, Darmstadt, Bonn and Cologne and of course in the city of Brno in Czech Republic. I have graduated university on 31st March, 2020 after almost 6 amazing years of student life filled with amazing adventures and determined to start a career.

So, right now I am a proud Master graduate who is about to start a career in Project Management. I am embracing new experiences and growing personally and professionally. I try to improve my German language skills and learn more about social media and photography.

In my free of learning time, I am doing yoga and meditating, exploring the beautiful nature around and basically I am just enjoying these moments of my life! And of course I am not forgetting about Netflix! Huge fan of movies and series! 

That is shortly about me and my life. More about my life adventures to follow. Please like and write your comments and don’t forget to introduce yourself. Looking forward to hearing from you.

Follow My Blog

Get new content delivered directly to your inbox.